The basic categories of pure Greek honeys are 8 and they have been identified by legislation according to their physicochemical characteristics that they must meet in order to carry one of those  categories’ names.

It’s worth mentioning that Greece is one of the few  countries  that has determined, by special legislation,particular physicochemical and microscopical characteristics for all those 8 categories after many years of scientific research .

There are the 8 categories of Greek pure honeys

  • Pine Tree Honey (Honeydew)
  • Fir Tree Honey (Honeydew)
  • Chestnut Honey (Nectar – some times Honeydew)
  • Heather Honey (Nectar)
  • Thyme Honey (Nectar)
  • Orange Tree Honey (Nectar)
  • Cotton flowers Honey (Nectar)
  • Sunflower Honey (Nectar)

The specific parameters that are used to identify the above pure types of Greek honey  are  included in (G.G B-239/23-2-2005).

The tagging of the vegetational origin of the pure Greek honeys that are included in the above regulation  can be done only if they meet the physicochemical parameters set by the regulation itself.As far as the rest are concerned ,the parametric values of section II of article 67 of the Foods’ Code apply.

In the addition of the above categories which are recognised in our country by law the following kinds are also produced in significant quantities depending also on the region:

  • Arbutus Honey (Nectar)
  • Forest Honey (Nectar & Honeydew)
  • Oak Tree Honey (Nectar & Honeydew)